Board of Supervisors

Agendas, Minutes & Claims

Date: June 13, 2016

Agenda   Minutes   Claims




DATE OF MEETING: Monday, June 13, 2016

TIME OF MEETING: 9:00 a.m. D.S.T.


PUBLIC NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the above-mentioned body will meet at the date, time, and place above set out. The tentative agenda for said meeting is as follows:

Pledge of Allegiance
Call to order
Approval of Agenda
Approval of Minutes
Old Business/New Business

  1. Approve Payables
  2. Julie Towne-Public Health Update
  3. Secondary Roads:
    1. Gravel Proposals
  4. Approve Retail Cigarette/Tobacco Permit Applications
  5. Approve Fireworks Permit, Mike Wendl 270 Olympic Avenue
  6. Canvass Primary Election
  7. Iowa Drainage District Membership/Payment Discussion
    1. Danny Bruch, Section 27, Eden Township
    2. Jerry Bruch, Section 14, Washington Township
    3. Kenneth & Jeff Sanders, Section 19, Maple River Township
    4. Eischeid Farms Inc, Section 6, Roselle Township
    5. Larry Meyer, Meyer 2, Section 14, Sheridan Township
    6. Hawker Farms II LLC, Wheatland Finisher Farm, Section 15, Wheatland Township
  8. Committee Reports

Comments from those in attendance


The Board of Supervisors of Carroll County, Iowa met in regular adjourned session in the Boardroom of the Courthouse, in Carroll, Iowa, the County seat of said County on Monday, June 13, 2016 at 9:00 a.m. Daylight Saving Time pursuant to law, the rules of said Board and to the adjournment with all members present: Neil Bock, District 1; Dean Schettler, District 2; Eugene Meiners, District 3; Marty Danzer, District 4; and Mark Beardmore, District 5.

Motion by Meiners, second by Danzer to approve the agenda as presented. On roll call, all voted aye. Motion by Schettler, second by Beardmore to approve the minutes of the June 6, 2016 meeting as written. On roll call, all voted aye.

Julie Towne, Carroll County Public Health Nurse met with the Board to announce her resignation effective July 8, 2016. Towne discussed projects she will be completing before July 8th. The Board thanked Towne for her service.

County Engineer, Dave Paulson, reviewed a proposal from Stratford Gravel to haul, load and spread gravel in Carroll County. Paulson reviewed an agreement with Hallet Materials for approximately 40,000 tons of gravel from the Wall Lake Pit at a cost of $6.00 per ton. Following discussion, motion by Meiners, second By Danzer to approve the agreement with Hallet Materials for approximately 40,000 tons of gravel at $6.00 per ton. On roll call, all voted aye.

Motion by Beardmore, second by Schettler to approve payment of payables as presented. On roll call, all voted aye.


Employer’s Share F.I.C.A. $11,472.05
Employer’s Share I.P.E.R.S. 14,424.91


Employer’s Share F.I.C.A. 9,290.82
Employer’s Share I.P.E.R.S. 12,295.15


Employer’s Share F.I.C.A. 165.96
Employer’s Share I.P.E.R.S. 197.61


Employer’s Share F.I.C.A. 1,395.50
Employer’s Share I.P.E.R.S. 1,870.07


Employer’s Share F.I.C.A. 8,933.25
Employer’s Share I.P.E.R.S. 10,731.37


Employer’s Share F.I.C.A. 131.47
Employer’s Share I.P.E.R.S. 153.46


Motion by Meiners, second by Danzer to approve retail cigarette/tobacco permits for the following: Al’s Corner Oil Company, Corner Station, and Carroll Country Club. On roll call, all voted aye.

Motion by Danzer, second by Schettler to approve a fireworks display permit application for the Mike Wendl for July 4, 2016. On roll call, all voted aye.

Board proceeded to canvass the results of the June 7, 2016 Primary Election. Motion by Danzer, second by Beardmore to approve the abstracts and canvass of the June 7, 2016 Primary Election. On roll call, all voted aye. The following candidates were declared as the nominee to the respective listed office and will appear on the General Election Ballot on November 8, 2016:

District 1 County Supervisor Rep – Neil Bock   Dem – No Candidate
District 3 County Supervisor Rep – No Candidate  Dem – Eugene Meiners
District 5 County Supervisor Rep – Richard Ruggles   Dem – No Candidate
Carroll County Auditor Rep – No Candidate   Dem – Kourtney Irlbeck
Carroll County Sheriff Rep – Ken Pingrey   Dem – Bill Croghan

All Abstracts and Canvass are on file in the County Auditor’s office.

Board reviewed manure management annual updates for Danny Bruch in Section 27 of Eden Township; Jerry Bruch in Section 14 of Washington Township; Kenneth & Jeff Sanders in Section 19 of Maple River Township; Eischeid Farms Inc. in Section 6 of Roselle Township; Larry Meyer, Meyer 2 in Section 14 of Sheridan Township; and Hawker Farms II LLC., Wheatland Finisher Farm in Section 15 of Wheatland Township.

Board discussed an invoice received from Iowa Drainage District Association. They are requesting an additional $5,000 in funding for the Des Moines Waterworks Lawsuit, $4,100 for membership dues, and $1,640 in County Mutual Protection. Carroll County has not been a member of the Iowa Drainage District in the past and the general consensus is they do not wish to become a member at this time nor contribute to the County Mutual Protection. The Board discussed more in depth the $5,000 funding for Des Moines Waterworks Lawsuit, with each Board member stating their position. Meiners will contact a member of the Sac County Board of Supervisors for their opinion on funding the Iowa Drainage District Association. No formal action taken. The Board will address the issue at a future Board meeting.

Danzer reported on road tour with Paulson and Hungry Canyons meeting. Upcoming meetings include: Wesco Board, Solid Waste Board and County Strategic Planning.

Meiners reported on CADC meeting, Policy Council meeting, and YES Center Board meeting. Upcoming meetings include: New Opportunities and County Strategic Planning.

Schettler reported on Conservation Board meeting and CADC meeting. Upcoming County Strategic Planning meeting.

Beardmore reported on Mallard View meeting. Upcoming meetings include: Ambulance Board, Coalition of Human Services, and County Strategic Planning.

Bock reported on Mallard View meeting. Upcoming meetings include: Coalition of Human Services, Local Planning, and County Strategic Planning.

Motion by Beardmore, second by Meiners to adjourn at 10:54 a.m. On roll call, all voted aye.

Kourtney Irlbeck, Auditor, Neil Bock, Chairman


Associated File: BILLDAY0616-1.pdf