Board of Supervisors

Agendas, Minutes & Claims

Date: July 18, 2016

Agenda   Minutes   Claims




DATE OF MEETING: Monday, July 18, 2016

TIME OF MEETING: 9:00 a.m. D.S.T.


PUBLIC NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the above-mentioned body will meet at the date, time, and place above set out. The tentative agenda for said meeting is as follows:

Pledge of Allegiance
Call to order
Approval of Agenda
Approval of Minutes
Old Business/New Business

  1. Treasurer Office Update
  2. Dawn Mentzer – Rolling Hills Community Services Update
  3. Barry Bruner – Time Capsule Discussion
  4. Secondary Roads:
    1. Utility Permits
  5. Recorder Quarterly Report
  6. Carroll Country Club Class C Liquor License/Outdoor Service/Sunday Sales
  7. Manure Management Annual Update:
    1. Dennis & Cynthia Obmann, Obmann Finisher, Section 7, Wheatland Township
    2. Dave Robinson, Dave Robinson-Klocke, Section 35, Eden Township
    3. Brandon Kerkhoff, Section 7, Eden Township
    4. Laverne Greving Site, Section 34, Pleasant Valley Township
  8. Committee Reports

Comments from those in attendance


The Board of Supervisors of Carroll County, Iowa met in regular adjourned session in the Boardroom of the Courthouse, in Carroll, Iowa, the County seat of said County on Monday, July 18, 2016 at 9:00 a.m. Daylight Saving Time pursuant to law, the rules of said Board and to the adjournment with all members present: Neil Bock, District 1; Dean Schettler, District 2; Eugene Meiners, District 3; Marty Danzer, District 4; and Mark Beardmore, District 5.

Motion by Beardmore, second by Schettler to approve the agenda as presented. On roll call, all voted aye. Motion by Danzer, second by Meiners to approve the minutes of the July 11, 2016 meeting as written. On roll call, all voted aye.

Carroll County Treasurer Jean Seidl met with the Board to discuss the closing of Driver’s License Station in Carroll. The local Driver’s License Station will close effective September 1, 2016. Seidl and her staff are willing to take on issuing drivers licenses in her office. Seidl explained that it will take an amendment to state code to add Carroll County and allow them to offer driver’s license services. Seidl said there are a lot of unknowns at this point, but she foresees hiring an additional staff person with the possibility of additional staff depending on work load. Seidl will have staff from the Iowa DOT meet with the Board next week to discuss this further. No formal action taken.

Dawn Mentzer, Rolling Hills Community Services Region CEO, met with the Board for a Regional Update. Mentzer discussed the following items: Crisis Stabilization Services, Jail Diversion Project, Multi-Entity Supported Employment Grant, and Transitional Services. Mentzer explained the Region’s FY17 budget is $3,150,428 for expenditures and $3,161,832 for revenue.

Barry Bruner, Mary Baumhover, Vicki Gach, and Barb Hackfort met with the Board to discuss the Courthouse 50th Anniversary. The 25th Rededication was discussed and the Board decided to form a committee to handle the 50th Anniversary comprised of Elected Officials, Bruner, and Hackfort. Schettler will head the committee and they will meet this week to set a date for the 50th Anniversary Ceremony.

Motion by Beardmore, second by Danzer to approve utility permits for Raccoon Valley Electric Cooperative in Section 16 Eden Township and Windstream in Section 32 Union Township. On roll call, all voted aye.

Marilyn Dopheide reviewed a quarterly report for the Recorder’s Department. $35,170.17 in which fees were collected for Carroll County, and an additional $87,662.78 was remitted to the State of Iowa. Dopheide also reviewed the annual report for the Recorder’s Department. Motion by Beardmore, second by Schettler to approve the Recorder’s quarterly and annual reports. On roll call, all voted aye.

Motion by Danzer, second by Beardmore to approve Class “C” Liquor License/Outdoor Service/Sunday Sales for Carroll Country Club. On roll call, all voted aye.

Board reviewed manure management annual updates for Dennis & Cynthia Obmann, Obmann Finisher in Section 7 of Wheatland Township; Dave Robinson, Dave Robinson-Klocke in Section 35 of Eden Township; Brandon Kerkhoff in Section 7 of Eden Township; and Laverne Greving Site in Section 34 of Pleasant Valley Township.

Bock reported on Courthouse windows, meeting with County Treasurer, ISAC Legislative priority letter and adding request to increase driver’s license fees. Bock will prepare a letter to address the request.

Beardmore reported on meeting with County Treasurer. Upcoming meetings include: Carroll Area Childcare Center, Coalition of Human Services, and Telephone Committee.

Schettler reported on Conservation Board meeting and meeting regarding public health. Upcoming meetings include: Board of Health and Courthouse 50th Anniversary.

Meiners reported on CADC meeting, Farm Bureau meeting, Headstart Federal Review, and YES Center.

Danzer reported on Wesco Board meeting, Solid Waste Board meeting, and meeting regarding public health. Upcoming Solid Waste Commission meeting.

Motion by Beardmore, second by Meiners to adjourn at 11:23 a.m. On roll call, all voted aye.

Kourtney Irlbeck, Auditor, Neil Bock, Chairman


Associated File: